About The Old Plough Rutland
From the mid 15th Century, the Plough site was a mailings & ale house, it was refurbished in 1838 and served as one of the village pubs and Coaching Inn for a further 110 years until 1948.
Constructed from local limestone with a Collyweston Slate roof this charming old house together with 'stables block' and 'coach house' is now Grade II listed and retains many of its original and distinctive features such as; the beer cellar, meeting rooms and a pine paneled 'snug bar'.
The extensive gardens and orchard lead to rolling fields of the Welland River Valley and a view of Rockingham Hill. The castle just over a mile away (as the arrow flies) is situated at the top of the hill and is well worth a visit.